Tags

challengesJust a short one.

I wrote a few blog posts ago about a good CAE welcoming challenge and the final decisions and audit opinions being strengthened by good challenge and an open environment to do this. Then I came across this blog post by Kevin Evers  in the Harvard Business Review blogs:

Group Think Is the Kryptonite of Leadership – Harvard Business Review

This argues that leadership, and the decisions it makes, will be denuded by groupthink and a lack of challenge. I agree, but wonder if this can be extended organisation-wide? Who, in the organisation, is in the best place to challenge organisational groupthink? Internal audit in my view. I think internal auditors that are not happy to be disagreed with, who are not willing to challenge themselves, and their clients, are missing the core element of their role.

Do you challenge enough?

